The Broadly Experienced Foreign Architect (BEFA) Program is an alternative pathway to licensure for foreign licensed architects. It was developed by the Canadian Architectural Licensing Authorities (CALA) and is administered by the Canadian Architectural Certification Board (CACB). The Program assesses broadly based experience of foreign architects against the Canadian Standard of Competency for Architects

Alberta Association of Architects (AAA)

Architects’ Association of New Brunswick / Association des architectes du Nouveau-Brunswick (AANB)

Architects Association of Prince Edward Island (AAPEI)

Architects Licensing Board of Newfoundland and Labrador (ALBNL)  

Architectural Institute of British Columbia (AIBC)

Manitoba Association of Architects (MAA)

Northwest Territories Association of Architects (NWTAA)

Nova Scotia Association of Architects (NSAA)

Ontario Association of Architects (OAA)

Ordre des architectes du Québec (OAQ)

Saskatchewan Association of Architects (SAA)

National Building Code of Canada

Canadian Handbook of Practice